Once you have created and deployed an Internet Exchange (IX) on the Megaport network, you can move the A-End, effectively moving the IX. This is a useful function for reducing interruptions during maintenance and other tasks that would otherwise cause downtime.
The following rules apply regarding which IXs you can move:
- The IX must at least be in a Configured state
- An IX locked by a Company Admin can’t be moved
- You can move an unlocked IX under a locked Port
- The source and destination Ports must be owned by the same customer account.
There are conditions that must be met before moving an IX. The following criteria must be satisfied before you can move an IX.
- The move can only be to a service of the same type. For example, Port to Port, MCR to MCR, or MVE to MVE.
- You can only move to a Port in the same metro as the current Port. For more information about metros, see Metro IDs.
- The destination Ports must have enough capacity for the selected connection.
- When a VLAN is specified, that VLAN must be available on the destination Port.
- The destination must not be an MVE with more than one vNic.
- The move must not cause a change to billing.
If a move is regarded as invalid, an error message is displayed and the IX is not moved.
If you cancel the move, the IX is not affected and it remains connected to its original Port.
Moving one or more IXs
You can move one or more IXs at a time. Select the Port that the IXs are to be moved from, then select the IXs to be moved.
To move one or more IXs
In the Megaport Portal, go to the Services page and select the Port you want to use.
Click the Move Connection icon next to the Port or the IX.
You can select or deselect connections individually, or use the Select All button.
Select the destination Port from the Move To list.
The Port selection list is filtered by the rules described in the rules and conditions described above. If a connection is not valid, it will be displayed but will not be available to select.
You can filter the Ports by selecting a diversity zone at the top of the Move To list.
Review your selection and click Move.
In the prompt that shows the intended move, review the details again and click Confirm.
The Summary table on the Move Connections screen shows the status of the move. It will either show a working hourglass, a message saying success, or an error message.
The Success status means that the request was successfully submitted but, as the message says, it still might take up to 2 minutes to appear.
If the move fails, an error message will be displayed, and the IX will not be moved.